English en
  • English en
  • français fr
Follow our events and news, here.
English en
  • English en
  • français fr
0
Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Personnage cubiste assis - Plâtre - Collection's - Romain & Henri Hayat
Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Personnage cubiste assis - Plâtre - Collection's - Romain & Henri Hayat
Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Personnage cubiste assis - Plâtre - Collection's - Romain & Henri Hayat
Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Personnage cubiste assis - Plâtre - Collection's - Romain & Henri Hayat
Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Personnage cubiste assis - Plâtre - Collection's - Romain & Henri Hayat
Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Personnage cubiste assis - Plâtre - Collection's - Romain & Henri Hayat
Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Personnage cubiste assis - Plâtre - Collection's - Romain & Henri Hayat
Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Personnage cubiste assis - Plâtre - Collection's - Romain & Henri Hayat
Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Personnage cubiste assis - Plâtre - Collection's - Romain & Henri Hayat

Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Seated cubist figure - Plaster

"Cubist figure" - Plaster.

Signed "LAVINSKI". Single event

Russia, around 1925.

Dimensions: Height 27 cm / Length 33 cm / Depth 23 cm



Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968)

Sculptor, architect, designer and graphic designer.

Coming from a family of customs officers for the protection of the sea, he graduated from the architecture branch of the Baku Technical College (1913). In 1913 he moved to Saint Petersburg. As a student he attended Л classes. В. Шервуда in the Department of Sculpture of the Higher Art School of Painting, and of Sculpture and Architecture of the Imperial Academy of Arts. He completed his military service from 1915 to 1917. He studied at the Free State Art Studios, and at the Sochi-студию School of Sculpture (1918).

He takes part in the implementation of the monumental propaganda plan, under which the monument К. Марксу for the red village. In 1919 he created the project of the monument of the October revolution (co-author with В. А. Синайским). He was sent to Saratov in 1919 to teach in free art workshops. Member of the "society of artists of art nouveau".

In 1920 he moved to Moscow where he worked for "Windows of satire GROWTH". He became one of the first masters of poster mosaic. He produced numerous movie posters, advertisements, book covers. He is notably the author of the very famous poster of the film "The Battleship Potemkin".

After the Revolution of 1917, a new artistic era was declared in Russia: "constructivism", an aesthetic using industrial techniques and the geometrization of space. Many "futuristic" artists are rushing into the breach; the fine arts education system is in turmoil. Anton Lavinsky will be one of the first reformers.

Lavinsky was undoubtedly ill-suited at the time: an idealist, he abandoned sculpture, began working with wood, made theatrical sets and posters, then returned to architecture, his original profession. . But as soon as a handful of students refuse to study with this "stool maker", he loses all interest in the discipline and creates little more than newsstands, stands for parades ...

However, his sculptures reveal an authentic, private, assertive character. Carried out in an intimate setting, Lavinsky's sculptures depict women and couples: the only preserved domain in a world of the 1920s that was already very Orwellian. It won't stay that way for long: the new ideal of the free couple, promoted in the Soviet Union, is taken to a climax in the story between Lavinsky and Mayakovsky, with whom he works as an illustrator and decorator. Mayakovsky was living at the time with Ossip and Lilia Brik: the latter could not have children, it was Lavinsky's wife who would have given birth to Mayakovsky's son… Enough to push Lavinsky to destroy, a few years later, sculptures become incongruous?

After a trip to Cologne in 1928 to direct, with El Lissitsky, the realization of the Soviet pavilion for a major press exhibition, Lavinsky never left the USSR again. He survived the end of Cubism, futuristic magazines and workshops, then the suicide of Mayakovsky in 1930. Living on state commissions, he remained in Moscow until his death in 1968. All his archives have been discarded and are unfortunately lost.

His work is however represented in several public collections, such as that of the National Library of Russia.


Your inquiry was submitted successfully. You can expect to hear from us shortly.

français fr
  • English en
  • français fr
Suivez nos évènements et nos nouveautés, ici.
français fr
  • English en
  • français fr
0
Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Personnage cubiste assis - Plâtre - Collection's - Romain & Henri Hayat
Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Personnage cubiste assis - Plâtre - Collection's - Romain & Henri Hayat
Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Personnage cubiste assis - Plâtre - Collection's - Romain & Henri Hayat
Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Personnage cubiste assis - Plâtre - Collection's - Romain & Henri Hayat
Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Personnage cubiste assis - Plâtre - Collection's - Romain & Henri Hayat
Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Personnage cubiste assis - Plâtre - Collection's - Romain & Henri Hayat
Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Personnage cubiste assis - Plâtre - Collection's - Romain & Henri Hayat
Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Personnage cubiste assis - Plâtre - Collection's - Romain & Henri Hayat
Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Personnage cubiste assis - Plâtre - Collection's - Romain & Henri Hayat

Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968) Personnage cubiste assis - Plâtre

« Personnage cubiste » - Plâtre.

Signé « LAVINSKI ». Epreuve unique

Russie, vers 1925.

Dimensions : Hauteur 27 cm / Longueur 33 cm / Profondeur 23 cm



Anton Mikhailovich LAVINSKY (1893-1968)

Sculpteur, architecte, designer et graphiste.

Issu d’une famille d’employés des douanes de la protection de la mer, il est diplômé de la branche architecture du Collège technique de Bakou (1913). En 1913, il s'installe à Saint-Pétersbourg. En tant qu'étudiant, il a assisté à des cours Л. В. Шервуда au département de sculpture de l'école supérieure d'art de peinture, et de sculpture et architecture de l'Académie impériale des arts. Il réalise son service militaire de 1915 à 1917. Il a étudié aux studios d'art libre d'État, et à l'école de sculpture de Sotchi-студию (1918).

Il participe à la mise en œuvre du plan de propagande monumentale, en vertu duquel a été exécuté le monument К. Марксу pour le village rouge. En 1919, il créa le projet du monument de la révolution d'Octobre (co-auteur avec В. А. Синайским). Il est envoyé en 1919 à Saratov pour enseigner dans des ateliers d'art libre. Membre de la "société d'artistes de l'art nouveau".

En 1920, il s'installe à Moscou où il travaille pour "Windows of satire GROWTH". Il devient l’un des premiers maîtres de la mosaïque d’affiche. Il produit de nombreuses affiches de cinéma, publicités, couvertures de livres. Il est notamment l'auteur de la très célèbre affiche du film "Le Cuirassé Potemkin".

Après la Révolution de 1917, une nouvelle ère artistique est décrétée en Russie : le « constructivisme », une esthétique utilisant des techniques industrielles et la géométrisation de l’espace. De nombreux artistes « futuristes » s’engouffrent dans la brèche ; le système d’enseignement des Beaux-Arts est bouleversé. Anton Lavinsky en sera l’un des premiers réformateurs.

Lavinsky était sans doute peu adapté à l’époque : idéaliste, il abandonne la sculpture, se lance dans le travail du bois, réalise des décors de théâtre, des affiches, puis retourne à l’architecture, son métier d’origine. Mais dès qu’une poignée d’étudiants refusent d’étudier auprès de ce « faiseur de tabourets », il perd tout intérêt pour la discipline et ne crée guère que des kiosques à journaux, des tribunes pour les parades…

Pourtant, ses sculptures révèlent un caractère authentique, privé, affirmé. Réalisées dans un cadre intime, les sculptures de Lavinsky mettent en scène la femme et le couple : seul domaine préservé dans un monde des années 1920 déjà très orwellien. Il ne le restera pas longtemps : le nouvel idéal du couple libre, promu dans l’Union soviétique, est poussé jusqu’au paroxysme dans l’histoire qui lie Lavinsky à Mayakovsky, avec qui il travaille en tant qu’illustrateur et décorateur. Mayakovsky vit à l’époque avec Ossip et Lilia Brik : cette dernière ne pouvant avoir d’enfants, c’est la femme de Lavinsky qui aurait donné naissance au fils de Mayakovsky… De quoi pousser Lavinsky à détruire, quelques années plus tard, des sculptures devenues incongrues ?

Après un voyage à Cologne en 1928 pour diriger, avec El Lissitsky, la réalisation du pavillon soviétique pour une grande exposition sur la presse, Lavinsky n’a plus jamais quitté l’URSS. Il survécut à la fin du cubisme, des revues futuristes et des ateliers, puis au suicide de Mayakovsky en 1930. Vivant de commandes de l’État, il resta à Moscou jusqu’à sa mort en 1968. Toutes ses archives ont été jetées et sont hélas perdues.

Son travail est cependant représenté dans plusieurs collections publiques, comme celle de la Bibliothèque Nationale de Russie.


Votre demande a été soumise avec succès.