English en
  • English en
  • français fr
Follow our events and news, here.
English en
  • English en
  • français fr
0

MATA Carlos (1949-2008)

Carlos Mata is a Spanish sculptor, born in 1949 in Palma de Mallorca and died in July 2008. He studied at the Academy of Art in Barcelona (Academia de Arte de Barcelona) and at the National School of Fine Arts in Paris . He lived and worked in these two cities.

Influenced by his Mediterranean origins, he was an animal sculptor. The artist is inspired by his childhood memories, landscapes and Spanish lands. He is interested in prehistoric arts. His cast iron bronzes exploit the symbolism of the animal by mixing grace and modernity. His most famous works are his horses and his bulls. The patina of his works and his forms, dark profiles reduced to their essential outlines, characterize him.

Carlos Mata is an internationally renowned artist. His works continue to be exhibited in art fairs, public and private collections in Europe, South America and the United States, as well as in our galleries in Saint Ouen.

français fr
  • English en
  • français fr
Suivez nos évènements et nos nouveautés, ici.
français fr
  • English en
  • français fr
0

MATA Carlos (1949-2008)

Carlos Mata est un sculpteur espagnol, né en 1949 à Palma de Majorque et mort en juillet 2008. Il a étudié à l’Académie d'art à Barcelone (Academia de Arte de Barcelona) et à École nationale supérieure des beaux-arts de Paris. Il a vécu et travaillé dans ces deux villes.

Influencé par ses origines méditerranéennes, il était un sculpteur animalier. L’artiste s’inspire de ses souvenirs d’enfance, des paysages et des terres espagnols. Il s’intéresse à l’arts préhistorique. Ses bronzes en fonte exploitent la symbolique de l’animal en mêlant grâce et modernité. Ses œuvres les plus connus sont ses chevaux et ses taureaux. La patine de ses œuvres et ses formes, des profils sombres réduits à leurs contours essentiels, le caractérisent.

Carlos Mata est un artiste de renommée internationale. Ses œuvres continuent à être exposées dans des foires d’art, des collections publiques et privées en Europe, en Amérique du Sud et aux États-Unis, ainsi que dans nos galeries à Saint Ouen.