English en
  • English en
  • français fr
Follow our events and news, here.
English en
  • English en
  • français fr
0

LARDERA Berto (1911-1989)

Berto Lardera was born in Italy. He is the son of a shipyard worker. All his sculptures are inspired by the monumental structures observed on construction sites.

In 1942 he had his first personal exhibition in Milan. In 1947, Lardera moved permanently to Paris and the following year he presented a solo exhibition of his two-dimensional sculptures and drawings at the Denise Renè gallery. He participated in the Salon de Mai and the Salon des Réalités Nouvelles and, in 1948, he was invited to exhibit at the Venice Biennale, the first of his many participations in this international event. He then exhibited at the São Paulo Biennial and at the 3 Documenta in Kassel in 1955, 1959 and 1964, as well as at the New Delhi Triennial in 1968. From 1958 until 1961, he was guest professor (Gastprofessor) at the school of art in Hamburg.

Lardera's work is abstract in nature but almost always refers to figuration. Between 1942 and 1945, the artist created the first examples of what he called "two-dimensional sculpture". From 1949, he added a third dimension to his compositions by constructing more elaborate geometric planes. The Italian sculptor is present in many collections.

You can admire his works at The British Museum, the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (MNBAQ), The Peggy Guggenheim Collection, the Center Pompidou, the Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium, as well as in our galleries in Saint Ouen .

français fr
  • English en
  • français fr
Suivez nos évènements et nos nouveautés, ici.
français fr
  • English en
  • français fr
0

LARDERA Berto (1911-1989)

Berto Lardera est né en Italie. C’est un fils d'un ouvrier de chantier naval. Toutes ses sculptures sont inspirées des structures monumentales observées sur les chantiers.

En 1942, il a sa première exposition personnelle à Milan. En 1947, Lardera s'installe définitivement à Paris et l'année suivante, il présente une exposition personnelle de ses sculptures bidimensionnelles et de ses dessins à la galerie Denise Renè. Il participe au Salon de Mai et au Salon des Réalités Nouvelles et, en 1948, il est invité à exposer à la Biennale de Venise, la première de ses nombreuses participations à cet événement international. Il expose ensuite à la Biennale de São Paulo et aux 3 Documenta de Kassel en 1955, 1959 et 1964, ainsi qu'à la triennale de New Delhi en 1968. De 1958 jusque 1961, il est professeur invité (Gastprofessor) à l'école d'art de  Hambourg.

L'œuvre de Lardera est de nature abstraite mais fait presque toujours référence à la figuration. Entre 1942 et 1945, l'artiste crée les premiers exemples de ce qu'il appelle la "sculpture bidimensionnelle". À partir de 1949, il ajoute une troisième dimension à ses compositions en construisant des plans géométriques plus élaborés. Le sculpteur italien est présent dans de nombreuses collections.

Vous pouvez admirer ses œuvres à The British Museum, au Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (MNBAQ), à The Peggy Guggenheim Collection, au Centre Pompidou, aux Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium, ainsi que dans nos galeries à Saint Ouen.