English en
  • English en
  • français fr
Follow our events and news, here.
English en
  • English en
  • français fr
0

GODCHAUX Roger (1878-1958)

Roger GODCHAUX (1878-1958), the son of an antique dealer passionate about big cats and elephants Failing to enter the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Paris, the sculptor Jean-Léon Gérôme accepts him as a student in his studio, being impressed by his seriousness for his young age.

The animal sculptor exhibited at the Salon of French Artists. He received a first medal in 1922; that same year, the State ordered two bronze plaques from him for the library of the Musée de l’Armée. In 1925, he was again decorated at the International Exhibition of Decorative Arts. In 1927, he won the competition of the automobile manufacturer Chenard and Walcker for the creation of an emblem.

Godchaux has always taken the greatest care with his bronzes, cast mainly by Susse using the lost wax process, and he touched up all his waxes before casting each proof, so that each bronze is unique. His bronzes have always been produced in very small limited series.

His sculptures are exhibited at the Musée d'Orsay, as well as in our galleries in Saint-Ouen.

français fr
  • English en
  • français fr
Suivez nos évènements et nos nouveautés, ici.
français fr
  • English en
  • français fr
0

GODCHAUX Roger (1878-1958)

Roger GODCHAUX (1878-1958), le fils d’antiquaire passionné par les fauves et les éléphants Echouant l’entrée à l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts de Paris, le sculpteur Jean-Léon Gérôme l’accepte comme élève dans son atelier, étant impressionné par son sérieux pour son jeune âge.

Le sculpteur animalier exposa au Salon des Artistes français. Il reçut une première médaille en 1922 ; cette même année, l’État lui commanda deux plaquettes en bronze pour la bibliothèque du Musée de l’Armée. En 1925, il fut de nouveau décoré lors de l’Exposition Internationale des Arts Décoratifs. En 1927, il remporta le concours du constructeur automobile Chenard et Walcker pour la création d’un emblème.

Godchaux a toujours apporté le plus grand soin à ses bronzes, coulés principalement par Susse selon le procédé de la cire perdue, et il retouchait toutes ses cires avant de couler chaque épreuve, si bien que chaque bronze est unique. Ses bronzes ont toujours été produits en très petites séries limitées.

Ses sculptures sont exposées au Musée d'Orsay, ainsi que dans nos galeries à Saint-Ouen.